No Sarcasm Or Silly Jokes Please…

Why is it so hard to understand sarcasm? Like seriously it’s just silly.

I seem to be able to mask how awkward I feel with people I don’t want to talk or listen to, but sarcasm or those annoying pointless jokes just knock me off guard every damn time! I take everything and everyone literally.

I pretend to laugh along to jokes, until I’m asked “did you get that joke?” and I end up saying “no”. So I just sound like a fool for pretending to understand in the first place! In all honesty the only time I tend to mess up in a obvious way is when these awful jokes come into conversation.

Then you get those sarcastic comments. These fuckers catch me countless times. I can’t even pretend with sarcasm! I believe every word that comes out someones mouth. So when this guy shouts at my friend and I the other day that we couldn’t go through the gate he had just unlocked because the school bell hadn’t gone off yet..I’m already walking the opposite way. It’s only when they say they’re joking I feel like shit.

So yeah this is just a little rant, it’s been playing on my mind since yesterday so had to share πŸ™‚ I know some of you Aspies have been in similar situations too! I’m curious how you guys handle jokes and sarcasm? I only tend to get it from random people I don’t know well enough. But yeah it really irritates me as it’s the only obvious way I mess up. 😦

P.S Please excuse my french πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “No Sarcasm Or Silly Jokes Please…

  1. I don’t care for sarcasm either because I don’t it’s that funny and I used to get asked that question a lot too. Some people were kind of condescending about it too and they were like, “Do even know what that means?”

    1. It really isn’t funny at all, I don’t see the point in it! GRRR..
      I hate it when I take them literally and they say something along the lines of “I was being sarcastic…….” *awkward pause* AHHH.. *grits teeth* lol

  2. Sarcasm is why I like emoticons, lol. It is so hard in text to figure out.

    Sometimes I get verbal sarcasm and sometimes I don’t. I tend to be on the more gullible side, but I’ve been known to catch a few people too. So… I can’t really cry fowl, lol.

    1. LOL you make me laugh! I f*ck up with typing errors all the time don’t worry πŸ˜€

      Ahh I can’t even tell in texts, but it’s easier to get away with when it’s done through emails or texts etc when a simple emoticon will do lol!

      I’m just gullible altogether and take everything literally! I don’t mind that until it comes to an awkward sarcy comment lol..

  3. I totally agree with you about jokes and sarcasm! The way that I deal with sarcasm now is I either ask, think through the situation logically, or assume they are being honest. The logic part has grown a great deal over the years. As for jokes, I usually assume that they are bad or dirty so I try to act above them. Pretty silly ways to deal with those situations. πŸ™‚

    1. Ahh it’s just terrible 😦 I think I need to do those too..just think about the situation before acting like an idiot. They are not silly Anna! lol I could use those tips! I will use them in fact! Thank you πŸ˜€

      Hope you have a good week with work and schooling x

  4. The problem that people don’t realise with those with Asperger’s is that they tend to take what is said quite literally. As a result they don’t see the sarcasm when it’s there. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on how you struggle to cope with it.

    1. Definitely, I take everything literally. I hate it though like when it happens I just freeze and speak a load of crap to cover it up. Ahh..

      Lol no worries just had to rant about it as it was starting to irritate me 😦

  5. Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit, you are a better person than them
    It is them that look and should feel foolish, hold your head high for you are beautiful.

    1. I’m guessing this is dad’s friend Terri? πŸ™‚

      Thank you for those lovely words! I can’t handle sarcasm at all! I just wish I didn’t mess up with it 😦 Thank you for commenting πŸ™‚

      1. Of course not! Dad said you had taken a look at some of my posts on here πŸ™‚ I don’t mind at all! If you had the time it would be great if you could like my Facebook page too? (There’s a link to it on my front page) πŸ™‚

  6. Sarcasm is something that has taken me a long time to get used to. Most people I know know that I don’t get sarcasm most of the time or at all when it’s over non personal media formats. Eventually for some of them I just had to learn by their tone of voice and their constantly asking me how I can be so stupid. Now I’m going to stop thinking about these things

    1. Hey Snababo πŸ™‚

      I’m quite lucky and have friends that don’t use sarcasm. If anything me and one friend are sarcastic over silly things that we both know are obvious jokes etc. But I can’t understand other people.

      That’s not nice to say your stupid!! Your not stupid at all! Don’t listen to those idiots! Like a lady pointed out today.. I quote: ‘Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit’ πŸ™‚

      1. “But it means that they have at least that” is my usual response to that line. I too am guilty of using sarcasm I will admit. Though mostly the same as you.

Leave a Reply

