The Imagine Award Goes To….

After having an amazing weekend which I will tell you all about in another post, I come back here to find some blog awards ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve also been dealing with another shutdown since last night so this has lifted my mood immensely!

I’m really happy to be nominated for this award. Living with Aspergers for me personally hasn’t been too bad. I can’t say it brings me sadness all the time or that it has had a massive impact on my life because it hasn’t completely. One thing I can say that I have done a lot of my life and which is probably down to the Aspergers is imagine perfect situations.

These thoughts would mainly take place late at night just before I would go to sleep. I still do it to this day. When I was younger I was always imagining myself being popular and having everyone like me, want to be my friend or just be trendy. I did have a group of friends growing up and I was comfortable with but I always wanted to be like the social butterflies. I would be in awe of them all having so much confidence to go anywhere with anyone and not caring.

I would also imagine a perfect lifestyle that would appeal to everyone but me. Now I’m older I tend to just imagine myself being a socialite. Even though I would never be able to maintain that lifestyle for long or cope very well I always wanted that. I can still remember my maths lessons in secondary school and having my desk next to the window, which was an open opportunity to let my mind wander off.

It’s taken me until the last year to finally realise I am what I am and nothing is going to change. I have friends that now understand me and take everything in to account. I no longer feel that pressure to be perfect and sociable all the time. I no longer feel that I have to like a certain genre of music to impress others or dress in a certain way to be accepted.

I’ll forever be imagining things. The perfect story in a scruffy poem or a messed up fairy tale for a novel. The perfect dream I’d like to fall asleep to or the perfect life to wake up to. It’s these visual thoughts that give me some hope for the future ๐Ÿ™‚

imagine-award

Now I would like to thank Anna Rose Meedsย for nominating me for this award. This lady is just inspirational to me, she has accomplished so many things I can only dream of! Please check out her blog guys…

CREATIVE THINGS ABOUT ANNAROSEMEEDS:

  1. Anna writes openly about everything from Aspergers, Eating disorders, OCD and Book reviews.
  2. Anna posts a lot of pictures along with her posts which makes it easier to read.
  3. Anna’s blog is pretty altogether and worth following!

 

Rules for the Imagine Award

  1. Copy and past the award onto one of your posts.
  2. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link their blog page to your post.
  3. List 3-5 things about the nominatorโ€™s blog that you like (which you think are very creative).
  4. Nominate 5 other bloggers/blogs which you think display a fantastic use of creativity and imagination.
  5. Notify your nominees.
  6. Copy and paste The Imagine Award to your blog page.

 

Nominations for The Imagine Award:

  1. Sherri Matthews
  2. Green Embers
  3. Aspie Story
  4. That Awkward Kid
  5. The Fairytale Epidemic
9 thoughts on “The Imagine Award Goes To….

  1. Thank you so much lovely Maria for the nomination, and many congratulations on another richly deserved award!

    This post was very well written and gave me a good understanding of this ‘imagined’ world which again, I know my daughter would really relate to. You give me such hope for her that oneday she will have friends like this and be able to go out again and live a life outside the home. She is happy enough at the moment so we take it a step at a time…

    You’ve come a long way baby ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

    1. You’re welcome Sherri my dear!!!

      Yeah I’m sure she would! It was never really anything I thought about it’s like I did it without realising. She will Sherri honestly, having a mother like you and a close family she must be a lovely girl and will have friends that will love her! I didn’t have a good time with some friends in my life as I wasn’t obviously being myself as I wanted to be liked etc and wouldn’t show my Aspergers to anyone but now my friends know and some have stuck around.

      I can count my friends on one hand & I’m happy that way. I prefer quality over quantity now I’m older and wiser lol ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s all about taking baby steps, and being there every step of the way. She will be fine it just takes times ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know I feel quite proud of myself at the moment for doing these things and thankful for all the help I’ve received ๐Ÿ™‚

      Always here if you need me! x x x

      1. Ahh, bless you Maria, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

        Yes, if you can count the number of really true friends on one hand then you are one blessed person. This society that says we should have all these ‘friends’ causes nothing but stress and depression and awful pressures. It’s so great that you no longer feel you have to pretend to fit in and have great friends who understand about you having Asperger’s and so kind what you say about my daughter.

        You are lovely and should be so very proud of yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

        Likewise, you know where I am…have a super day my lovely girl/woman!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  2. If I was as good in writing as you are, I could have written what you just wrote. Yeah… you now see why I’m not a good writer ;). I completely understand what you’re saying and went through some of the same phases.

    You have a creative mind which can be considered a great gift. You really deserve this award and thank you so much for the nomination Maria! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ahh Darren I really can’t write as well as I would like..

      I struggle and still feel unsatisfied!

      I was constantly going through phases but never really liked the trends so I now wear things I’m comfortable in and listen to music I actually like lol!!

      Aww thank you, means a lot ๐Ÿ™‚ The same goes to you!

Leave a Reply

