Shining a Light in a Dark World – The Lighthouse Award

The Lighthouse Award

After a depressing day yesterday, posting this blog award has brightened my day. My intention was never to blog to gain attention or to boost my own ego. In fact, I had no idea how or why I started. I think it all started when I was diagnosed with asperger’s syndrome and ADHD. I remember feeling relief after the diagnosis but after seeing my doctor I felt let down. The first thing I was offered was Ritalin for the ADHD (which I declined). There was not one word about me just being diagnosed with bloody asperger’s!

So I went home and started looking into forums again for help and advice.  I still didn’t feel satisfied and felt that I had a name for something I didn’t actually know much about. That’s when the blogging started. I’m pretty sure I didn’t know I’d meet this many people or relate to half as many. I used the blog as an online journal which after some months gave me some followers with depression or autism in common.

I have found that, over the past year I’ve learned so much more about asperger’s syndrome and myself. I learned about stimming, echolalia, meltdowns, shutdowns, exhaustion, sensory overload and more! All of these things I deal with and had no idea that they were actually down to the asperger’s. I have also met so many inspiring people here that have been a great help. Some have brightened the light over my path and some have been great friends to me and showing me support when I really needed it.

I didn’t realise that, by opening up about my life and how asperger’s syndrome and ADHD affects me, I would be helping others just like they were helping me. I have always found it hard to open up to anyone, I mean living behind a mask for the majority of my teenage life never made it easy. Since I’ve been on WordPress I’ve realised I can be open and people will not judge me or find me pathetic as many have been in this position before. So I thank you all for being supportive and open minded and making my life here in the blogging world a great joy. It’s been wonderful 🙂

I must thank Sherri for everything she has done for me. Lacking empathy isn’t something I think about often, but after speaking with Sherri and finding how much I have in common with her daughter Aspie D and how much she has in common with my mother dealing with me, we have built a strong connection. I have now realised that I must make my parents feel awkward and stressed a lot of the time (especially my mother). I also know that we take our anger out on those we love the most..probably because we know we are safe to meltdown with them around and they would never leave us stranded or lonely. I have learned so much from Sherri, just hearing her side of the story and giving her mine is enough to ease her worry over Aspie D.

The rules and guidelines for The Lighthouse Award are:

  • Display the Award logo on your blog
  • Write a post and link back to the blogger who nominated you
  • Inform your nominees of their nominations
  • Share three ways that you like to help people
  • There is no limit to the number of people you can nominate

I honestly can’t say three ways that I like to help people. Put it this way, if I see someone that needs a helping hand I’ll give it. If someone asks for my help I’ll do all I can to help and if sending positive thoughts to those in need are one then there are my three.

So here are my warriors of light that I will be nominating:

  1. Anna Rose Meeds
  2. That Awkward Kid
  3. Aspie Story
  4. aspermama
  5. Life On The Moon
  6. My Autistic Life
  7. Patient Anonymous 
  8. Peaceful Rampage
  9. pushtoshove
  10. Aspergian

Everyone please check out these insightful blogs and that is it for tonight folks 😀 I have been meaning to watch A Clockwork Orange for weeks since Blue lent it to me, so tonight I shall 😀

12 thoughts on “Shining a Light in a Dark World – The Lighthouse Award

  1. Oh what an absolutely beautiful post Maria, and I want to thank you again for everything you have shared with us, me, and for the way you have helped and supported me personally. Neither of us had any idea that we would find this kind of help through blogging! Keep your beautiful light shining as you have so much to give. Love & hugs to you lovely lady and once again, many congratulations on this very well deserved award … 🙂 xxxxxxxxx

    1. Thank you Sherri for the award! If it wasn’t for the great feedback from you all I wouldn’t of been here blogging! 😀

      Ditto 🙂 I will read your message soon, have just spent an hour resetting laptop to factory 😦

      Keep shining your light as it’s definitely helping 😀

      Lots of love & hugs x x x x x x x x x x

      1. Ahh, so glad Maria 🙂
        I had my laptop wiped and restored to factory settings, a major pain, so I understand your frustration 😦
        Hope your day goes better…love & hugs xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Awwww thank you very much for the mention and the nod! I really just write on whatever it is I am going through at home or what I am dealing with professionally and I think it is awesome that there are those out there that can identify with that.

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination 🙂 I started blogging to try and express some of my thoughts and experiences, and figure that if others can read it and take some encouragement from it then it’s worthwhile.

  4. Thank you Maria for this wonderful nomination!
    For me it also started out with just the knowledge of having Asperger’s, but without knowing what is was all about and how it can affect your life. From the moment I started blogging and reading the stories of others, it all started to make sense. A few weeks ago I also got the ADHD label added to my list and they suggested looking at different medication options. But I don’t feel like that will be necessary. Just reading and talking about it with others who have experienced the same thing is enough to get a hold on things. I’m no longer fighting against an invisible force. I can now “see” my enemy and simply choose to confront it, or walk around it, if necessary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

