Working & Living On the Spectrum

Haven’t reblogged a post in ages but after reading this particular one it needed to be done. I relate so much to this post as I’m sure many females with asperger’s syndrome will. I am also trying to bring out the real me and let the ‘pretend’ me fade away. Great post!

Blogging Between the Lines

I was recently diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, an autism spectrum disorder on the high-functioning end of the spectrum. The diagnosis came as a relief, and a welcome way of understanding my differences from neurotypical people and my struggles after entering the professional workforce.

AS presents differently in women and men. The UK-based National Autistic Society has put together an easy to understand resource explaining these differences. But for me, it means not being able to meet the general expectations for female behavior. A major part of Asperger’s Syndrome in girls is the ability, and the drive, to observe, analyze, and then imitate social behaviors. While most females find it natural to chit-chat, speak in polite niceties, and empathize with others, females with AS simply pretend. And we pretend so well, we convince the people around us, and sometimes ourselves, that we know what we’re doing. We want…

View original post 478 more words

One thought on “Working & Living On the Spectrum

  1. Really interesting to read a woman’s perspective. I believe the reason why it’s said more men than woman are asperger’s, is because so many of the women remain undiagnosed, because the way it is typically expressed in a woman is less obvious than in a man. I was fortunate enough to be diagosed in 1995 at age 13, and I think it was because in my childhood years I did not pretend or try to fit in. I would hang around on my own at playtime, wanting to do my own thing, so I stood out like a sore thumb and staff had to take notice!

    I wouldn’t want to see anyone feel forced to try to become someone they’re not, but equally anyone should have the opportunity to learn social skills in a way that makes sense to them and helps them in life.

Leave a Reply

