The Latest With Serene Aspergia

It’s been so long since I blogged here. I’m not even sure where to start! I suppose it makes some kind of sense to fill you in on what I’ve been up to since I last blogged.

Since my last post I managed to hold my job down until my boyfriend was offered a job in a city up north. He decided to take this job leaving me with a few weeks to decide whether to stay or go with him. I went with him. Since the move I have started a new job and absolutely hated it. I struggled to fit in and constantly felt like I was going to fall asleep (it was that boring). My managers failed to understand my concerns regarding fitting in and coping with some aspects of the role because of the aspergers syndrome, resulting in me handing in my notice.

After leaving my job I felt relieved to be out of that sickening office environment with strange people that seemed happy to work never ending hours doing the same thing over and over again. I told myself that I would find a new job as soon as possible. Deep down I knew I wouldn’t have the courage to actually work straight away. Anyway, weeks turned into months and I felt myself feeling more and more disconnected with the world with each passing day. I knew that would happen though. Depression is always lurking over my shoulder, just waiting for the right time to creep back in.

So that brings me to this present day. My boyfriend and I bought our first house in December and have been decorating since. I’ve actually learned a thing or two over the past year; I really enjoy upcycling old furniture, decorating and interior design. Well, I knew I always loved being creative but since moving into my own home I’ve completely transformed the place and love living here. I have also learnt that, although I am 4 hours away from my parents and friends, you can make a home anywhere. It doesn’t matter how far away you are from loved ones, as long as you’re with someone you love and trust, you can make home anywhere.

I have also started fostering dogs that are living in rescues/kennels. I have missed my dogs so much that are living with my parents and have always wanted to help in some way. I decided to foster from a rescue called The Senior Staffy Club as their dogs tend to be aged 8 or over and the thought of these old dogs living and sleeping in a kennel makes me sad. I am currently fostering a beautiful wise soul called Victor. He is 12 years old and still has loads of energy to burn. He has brought so much happiness to my life in the short space that we have been looking after him, he’s a precious boy.

I think that’s pretty much everything there. I have been using a Tumblr blog dolcefarniente-uk as of late if you would like to check that out too. I am hoping to blog as often as possible and stay in touch with you all along the way. Have a lovely weekend.

Love & Light,

M

 

 

12 thoughts on “The Latest With Serene Aspergia

    1. Hi, lovely to see you here 🙂 Yes I definitely agree with you! You should look into it, so many dogs need fostering to free up rescue space which also saves a dog from being PTS in the pounds! 🙂 A little goes a long way 🙂 x

      1. Ahh that’s great news! They tend to always need fosters so I’m sure you’ll be in luck! Let me know if you want to contact any more rescues as I know a few that are in need 🙂 x

  1. Glad to see you coming through the other side after what you had been through. I’ve been in a few jobs I hated so I know where you’re coming from. You’re enjoying the dog fostering, is there any way you can get a job with that?

    1. Thanks Michael. It’s a slow process but starting therapy again on Monday in hopes of getting out of the rut I’ve found myself in. I am really enjoying it 🙂 I’m not sure really as it’s mainly volunteering because the rescues tend to be run by donations etc.

      1. You’re welcome Maria. I know that places like that tend to be volunteer only. However, I know from experience that volunteer work can strengthen your resume. So keep your head up.

      2. I am hoping to strengthen my resume in time, if only I knew what I wanted to do with my life that wouldn’t put any stress on me! Grrr, can’t win! Will keep head up 🙂

Leave a Reply

