Fur-ever Victor

 

Let me tell you a little about my furry friend Victor and how he makes me happy.

I’ve been fostering Victor for around 3 months now and I’ve loved every minute of it. He’s a quirky character and really doesn’t act his age of 12. Everyday he wakes up around noon and if the sun’s made an appearance, he’ll trot outside and bathe in it. Once he’s had a nap outside with the breeze blowing through his fur I’ll start up the hose and give him a shower to cool off. At first he wasn’t too keen and tried his hardest to bite the water! but it was all worth it for his love of rub downs with a soft towel. I’ve never seen a dog love being towel dried so much! He adores it.

One of the things I love most about Victor, is his love of certain treats and toys and hiding them. I’ve bought him lots of bones and chewy treats that he will sniff and walk away from. Yes, I found this strange at first but soon discovered that he would be walking away to find a decent hiding place for them, then come and collect the toy and hide it. What makes me laugh the most is finding his toys and bones hidden in the strangest places I never would’ve thought a dog would be able to hide it in. I’ve found them tucked right at the back of my bookcase, hidden under the rug, hidden at the bottom of the pile of clothes in the wardrobe and shoved inside my shoes! 🙂 I can’t help but smile every time I come across one..

Victor is a very intelligent dog. He was able to communicate with me as soon as I started fostering him. He will stand by the back door if he wants to go toilet, stand by the front door if he’s wanting his walkies, stand by his food bowls if he’s hungry and nudge the living room door if he decides he’s not ready for bed and wants to join me and watch some TV before bed. He’s a quiet dog in general, doesn’t bark when we leave him alone in the house or when someone knocks the door but he will bark if he gets impatient when playing fetch 🙂  Oh, and he does like to have a sing-a-long during long car rides so be sure to pack some ear plugs 🙂

One of Victor’s favourite things in the whole world is going on his walkies. He loves to sniff his surroundings and explore new places. He doesn’t like being too close to other dogs  (mostly dogs off their lead) so we avoid walking directly next to one if we can. Don’t let this put you off though, after a week or two of walks you will trust each other and understand his boundaries. Every walk is easy with Victor and other dogs are usually easily avoided. We’ve taken him to the Ilkley Moors and we really struggled with the hills yet Victor raced up them with no signs of slowing. When we stopped halfway for some lunch and treats he would lie down in the grass then roll down the hill! We found it so funny that he would roll down and run back up and roll back down again 🙂 He’s full of personality and it’s beautiful to see.

Now, I can’t stress enough just how much Victor loves his sleep. He’s quite the snorer too 🙂 This old boy can sleep for hours and doesn’t like his lay ins being interrupted. If he does get woken up early he can be quite a grumpy old chap but don’t take it to heart, he’ll still love you. If you do get the privilege to catch Victor doing a grumpy, just give him his space and he’ll soon come over requesting some cuddles and a belly rub!

So, I’d like to finish by asking you to please consider adopting Victor. He really is a gentle, wise old soul with plenty of years ahead of him. He loves an adventure and loves people. He really is the best companion you could ever hope for and whoever does adopt him in the future, really won’t regret their decision..

Lots of lub,

Victor & Maria (Foster mummy)

6 thoughts on “Fur-ever Victor

  1. sounds ace, Ilkley Moor, hope you remembered your hat, I’m from Yorkshire not far from there myself, I didn’t realise how close you were!

    1. Yeah it’s beautiful, one of my favourite places in Yorkshire. We went to Whitby and Robin Hood’s bay today to see the abbey and walk along the beach. Was lovely! Where in Yorkshire do you live? I used to live in Berkshire but moved to West Yorkshire last year in Feb!

      1. ah Leeds I sometimes come party in Leeds, bit of a raver, Huddersfield isn’t great for that sort of thing, though am trying to get to a reggae night in a few weeks, small world eh!

Leave a Reply

