Scotland – Edinburgh & Loch Lomond

For my 27th birthday this year we went away to Scotland for 4 nights. On the day of arrival we checked out the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and Will planned a trip to The Royal Observatory of Edinburgh which I thoroughly enjoyed. We were able to see the impressively huge telescope and the rotating dome (pictured below). After an insightful talk about astronomy we walked up to the top of the dome to star gaze and check out the beautiful night sky. Luckily the sky was clear as we had the opportunity to look at the moon closely through telescopes and to top it off we held some rocks from space!

The second day we got the tram into the city and took a tour of the underground vaults. It was surreal being under the city and learning the history behind them. Once we left the vaults we went to The Surgeons Hall Museum. We spent a good few hours there as there was so much to see. We learnt about research into diseases, dentistry and walked among hundreds of body parts preserved in jars! Very fascinating and worth a visit.

On our third day we made our way to our little log cabin near Loch Lomond. I absolutely adore driving through Loch Lomond and exploring it’s beautiful surroundings. I felt quite drained from the last few days so we took it easy and walked for most of the day before retiring and winding down for our last day.

Our final day in Scotland was a fun one. We visited the aquarium and took a walk around Balloch Castle in the afternoon then headed to Inveraray to visit the old jail. To finish the evening we went back to The Drovers Inn, one of my favourite pubs, for a meal of haggis, neeps and tatties (of course, when in Scotland).

I had a lovely relaxed and insightful time in Scotland again and can’t wait to visit sometime soon. I’ve realised that my phone camera is rubbish so I’ve just bought my first DSLR camera so I’m hoping to take some nice clear photos in the future! I’ll be posting again soon with more updates on my never ending madness but for now it’s goodbye 🙂

2 thoughts on “Scotland – Edinburgh & Loch Lomond

Leave a Reply

